top of page
Search

Blog #3: My first orientation meeting!

Updated: Nov 21, 2019

Ahoj z Česka! After a couple more exciting weeks, I have found some time to sit down and share what I have been up to. As I mentioned at the end of my last post, last weekend I traveled to Trenčín, Slovakia for my Rotary Orientation. This was the first meeting for our district, 2240, which includes both Czechia and Slovakia. In total there are 72 of us! I can't even begin to explain how helpful this weekend was for me. It is so refreshing to talk to people who understand both what you're going though, but also why you're going through it. Because I am the first RYE student that my school has had, most kids are very confused as to what I'm doing here and my motives are constantly questioned. Being with the other 71 students from around the world, who made the same decision to devote a year of their lives to this program, really helped me remember why I wanted to do this. My faith in my decision to go on exchange was fully restored after hearing stories from both past and current youth exchange students. I have never bonded so quickly with such a big group of people in my life, but wow, it was truly amazing. I already feel as though I have known these people for years and the heartbreak of leaving each other someday has already brought tears to our eyes. Luckily, we still have many more memories to make together on our adventures this year before that time comes. The next time that we officially get to see each other again will be in Prague for the Christmas meeting in December. We will have orientation meetings all year long, with some fun trips mixed in, too. Some highlights are spending a week together skiing in the mountains of Slovakia and even traveling to France, Spain, and Italy for a few weeks- but you will hear about all of that later. The point is that I cannot think of a better group of students to have by my side through all of this and I am extremely grateful.

I'm completely hidden behind someone, so don't waste time looking for me. Apparently it's hard to get a good photo of 72 teenagers with as much energy as we have!

On Saturday we climbed up a castle with a beautiful view of Trenčín

It's a Rotary tradition that students bring a pin from their home country to trade with others. We spent lots of time handing out pins; I am happy that my blazer is already filling up!

District 2240 ❤️ (look for me in the bottom right)

I found this photo that makes me laugh. We played a lot of typical get-to-know-you games, and it appears as though I got a little too competitive.

A picture I took during our (very limited) free time together at night

My favorite group picture from the weekend (catch me again near the bottom right)

Sunday at the train station with the Prague exchange students (and two from Pilsen). We had so much fun together on the trip home.

Words cannot express how truly amazing the group of exchange students in my district are. I am so excited to see everyone again. Until then, we stay connected through social media, which acts as a great support system. To be honest though, we mainly just reminisce about our time together. We joke that we will always remember the 21st night of September 🎶 (and I know I most certainly will)!


 

On Wednesday I was invited to spend the night with one of the Rotarians from my club. I am always impressed by the kind way that people here open their homes to me, but this family was especially sweet! They don't speak any English so my Czech skills were really put to the test. This, along with the fact that I had never actually met the family made me a little apprehensive to agree, but I pushed myself to step out of my comfort zone and follow my rule to always say yes when people ask me to do things (as long as I know it's safe of course😉). This year is really all about seeking discomfort and I have already learned and grown so much from it. As always, I am so glad that I made the choice to say yes because I got along with this family so well! At the end of the night, I heard the youngest girl tell her dad "this Elsa is even better than the one from Frozen!!" They have invited me to come back whenever I would like, so I'm sure I'll have some more stories to share about them soon.


We visited a trampoline park that afternoon and although I was definitely the oldest one there, I was also definitely the one having the most fun. It has been years since I have had the chance to swing from monkey bars and flip on trampolines, but it has certainly not lost its charm for me just yet.

A platter of very traditional Czech appetizers that they made for me to try

We ended the night with a "slime challenge"

Again, me having way too much fun doing things meant for 5 year olds

 

On Friday I met the other Prague exchange students for a "reunion" (even though it had only been 5 days since we had seen each other). They showed me around Prague a little, we visited their favorite mall, and then we went grocery shopping to buy ingredients for our big dinner. Everyone cooked traditional foods from their countries which led to a very diverse feast. I wish I took a picture of the table because it was amazing. We laughed and danced the rest of the night away. I was lucky enough to have two good Brazilian friends last year, so I already knew some of the dances and songs! I'm beginning to establish a very close relationship with this group because they are the closest exchange students to me. I will be starting to take Czech lessons with them in Prague now, too, so I will see them at least twice a week.


The rest of this weekend was pretty uneventful. On Saturday I toured the Koněprusy caves with my host brother. Tourists often travel to our small village to visit these caves because they very historic. Later that evening, I traveled with my host family to a classical music concert. Then Sunday, we went to church and spent the night at one of their friend's house watching a movie.


The view from our hike up to the caves Saturday morning

Some cute little friends we made on our way home

The city of Březnice, where we went to the concert

Playing checkers with my host brother on the Březnice town square

 

School is still going very well and I have made so many friends in my city. I'm really lucky to have such a cool class that wants to invite me to do everything with them. I'm especially grateful for můj nejlepší kamarádko (my best friend), Tess. People like Tess and her family are the reason I am surviving this year without my own parents and siblings by my side. They are truly the best, I love them so much.


Not the greatest picture but these are the Povolná girls😍

 

Well, that's about all I have time for, but hopefully now you have a better understanding of my life here! I am really beginning to feel at home, although I wish I could bring all of you with to share it with me. I miss everyone so much and I hope all is well.

Love always, from 🇨🇿 —> 🇺🇸.


Čau!


Elsa (Eliška)











113 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page